Chili Bowl


Live Timing
Watch Live
Fantasy Racing

Matt Wood Racing Announces Four-Driver Team for Chili Bowl!


Cole Wood

Matt Wood Racing Announces Four-Driver Team for Chili Bowl!

Matt Wood Racing Announces Four-Driver Team for Chili Bowl!

(Bill W) December 8, 2015 – The Matt Wood Racing team has announced a four-driver midget team for the Chili Bowl. The 30th Annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals presented by General Tire will be held January 12-16, 2016 at the River Spirit Expo Center in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

Returning with the team will be Chase Johnson of Penngrove, California in the #17J. Joining the team in 2016 will be Shane Golobic of Fremont, California in the #17G, Justin Henderson of Sioux Falls, South Dakota in the #17w, and Paul McMahan of Nashville, Tennessee in the #17M. All Matt Wood Racing midgets will be Spike Chassis powered by Esslinger, and sponsored by Elk Grove Ford and Quick Lane Tire and Auto.

About the drivers…

Shane Golobic (qualifying Friday, Jan. 15) – Shane holds the distinction of having the most experience at the Chili Bowl amongst this year’s group of talented drivers. The 2014 360 Civil War Series champion will be competing in his eighth Chili Bowl. He has made three appearances in Saturday night’s championship event, topping out with a seventh place finish in 2013. A 2013 World of Outlaws feature winner in Antioch, California, Shane has over 30 career sprint car wins, and also has recorded track championships at Ocean Speedway and Calistoga Speedway in his native California.

Justin Henderson (qualifying Wednesday, Jan. 13) – Justin will be making his fourth Chili Bowl start, and his first since 2008. He racked up eight wins at the Knoxville Raceway in 2015, including sweeping both the 360 and 410 features on two occasions. Having spent time with the World of Outlaws, in central Pennsylvania and in the Midwest, the last three seasons have arguably been the 2002 Huset’s Speedway champion’s best. He has two top five finishes at the Knoxville Nationals and a pair of 360 owner titles for BDS Motorsports at Knoxville.

Chase Johnson (qualifying Tuesday, Jan. 12) – After Chase spread his wings in 2014, racing sprint cars at other venues in the West and Midwest, he stepped up to 410 sprint car racing in 2015. Along the way, he earned Rookie of the Year honors with the King of the West Series in California. He made his Chili Bowl debut in January of 2014, was involved in the 24 hours of LeMons in March that year. Chase has also competed in non-wing 410 sprint cars, 360 sprints, non-wing spec sprint cars and a non-wing micro-sprint.

Paul McMahan (qualifying Thursday, Jan. 14) – Paul will be competing in his sixth Chili Bowl Nationals. He made the finale back in 2001. Paul’s win with the World of Outlaws in October at Lawrenceburg Speedway was his 26th with the series. The 2002 Short Track Nationals champion and 1999 Rookie of the Year with the All Stars had a career-best finish in points with the World of Outlaws in both 2013 and 2014, placing third in the season standings. He will be running the WoO tour again in 2016 with a new team, Destiny Motorsports.

Matt Wood Racing would like to thank: Elk Grove Ford, Quick Lane, Fuel Safe, Schoenfeld and Vortex Wings!

To follow the Matt Wood Racing’s progress online, visit!

Bill W Media
Twitter: @BillWMedia
Monroe, IA USA

Back to News

Past Champions

2023 Champion Logan Seavey
2022 Champion Tanner Thorson
2021 Champion Kyle Larson
2020 Champion Kyle Larson
2019 Champion Christopher Bell

Contact Us