Chili Bowl


Live Timing
Watch Live
Fantasy Racing

Giving Back To Racers; Elliott Family Establishes The Tony Elliott Chili Bowl Memorial Foundation


Chili Bowl Nationals

Giving Back To Racers; Elliott Family Establishes The Tony Elliott Chili Bowl Memorial Foundation

TULSA, Okla. (October 22, 2015) The Chili Bowl Midget Nationals. If you ask any racer, the week-long indoor spectacular is a top destination on the Bucket List of any driver who aspires to make a name for themselves.

A race that sees several drivers in a car for just a week, a ride with a winning team takes not only raw talent, but the rental fee to go with it and for some, the cost is simply out of reach despite their list of wins. An ambassador of the sport of Sprint Car racing, Tony Elliott was fortunate enough to have some of Sprint Cars best rides, and knew all too well the struggle of racing the Chili Bowl.

Making the cut for Saturday’s championship event on four occasions, Elliott’s life was cut tragically short on October 2, 2015, in a plane crash that also claimed the lives of Charles D. Smith, Scott A. Smith, and Scott D. Bibler.

Carrying on Tony’s name and legacy in the sport, the family of the two-time USAC National Champion has established the Tony Elliott Chili Bowl Memorial Foundation.

The purpose of the foundation is to provide a deserving driver the chance to race the Chili Bowl by paying the cost of renting a quality ride that can potentially compete for the win in the world’s biggest Midget Sprint Car event.

Anyone wishing to donate to the fund may do so by sending funds to:

#Tony Elliott Chili Bowl Memorial Foundation
#c/o Lake City Bank
#202 E. Center St.
#Warsaw, IN 46580.

The 30th edition of the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals presented by General Tire takes place January 12-16, 2016 at the Tulsa Expo Raceway inside the River Spirit Expo Center in Tulsa, Okla. More information the Chili Bowl can be found at

Submitted By: Bryan Hulbert

Back to News

Past Champions

2023 Champion Logan Seavey
2022 Champion Tanner Thorson
2021 Champion Kyle Larson
2020 Champion Kyle Larson
2019 Champion Christopher Bell

Contact Us