Chili Bowl


Live Timing
Watch Live
Fantasy Racing

Mike Howard Photo


Chili Bowl Nationals

Chili Bowl Entry List Continues to Grow

Bryan Hulbert - Tulsa, Oklahoma (December 17, 2012) With the deadline for the early entry discount scheduled for December 18th, entries for the 27th annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals presented by General Tire happening January 8-12, 2013 at the Tulsa Expo Center has grown to over 200 strong.

Already having accomplished the unthinkable with three straight Lucas Oil Chili Bowl National titles, Kevin Swindell joins the list of entries as the Germantown, Tennessee prodigy looks to pilot the Swindell Motorsports - Mike Curb / US Fleet Tracking No. 39 to an unprecedented fourth consecutive victory.

Joined by his father Sammy Swindell, who has taken home five Golden Drillers (2009, 1998, 1996, 1992 and 1989) the pair will look to keep that “Chili Bowl Luck” on their side as an onslaught of talent has joined the ranks including 2012 Turkey Night Grand Prix Champion Kyle Larson.

Coming off an extraordinary year in almost every form of motorsports, the 2012 K&N Pro East Series Champion has wins at almost every major dirt track event that Sprint Cars have to offer. Lacking a Knoxville Nationals Title and the Golden Driller, the Elk Grove, California native will look to scratch one of those off the list on board the Keith Kunz / Curb-Agajanian No. 71.

A cast of many in this year’s Keith Kunz stable, Larson will be joined by Christopher Bell who captured the attention of the Sprint Car world when he earned the runner up spot at the 25th annual Comp Cams Short Track Nationals along with Rico Abreu who had a standout year with wins in King of the West as well as POWRi competition. Bell will pilot the Speedway Toyota No. 67W with Abreu behind the wheel of the Abreu Vineyards No. 67.

Joining the Keith Kunz line up as the Chili Bowl Rookie, Saskatchewan, Canada’s Riley Emmel will pilot the IWX Motor Fright entry with two time World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Champion Jason Meyer returning to Tulsa after three year absence on board the Advanced Racing No. 71k

With an already strong showing from the west coast, two time champion Cory Kruseman (2004 and 2000) returns with hopes of making his twelfth $10,000 to win feature event. Piloting his own Lucas Oil Products No. 21k, the Ventura, California shoe will field three additional cars with Rick Hendrix and Justin Hendricks representing the United States while New Zealand native Trevor Cooper looks to make his Rookie year a memorable one for the Kiwis.

With several teams announced, entries are still lacking from some of the races biggest stars.

Chief among those is the Orange Army. Headed up by Loyet Motorsports, a press release issued by the team revealed the line-up of drivers with Brad Loyet and Gary Taylor returning to the familiar o5 machines. New cast members to the Loyet camp include Kokomo, Indiana’s Shane Cottle along with Campbell, California non-wing ace Bud Kaeding.

Entries for the 27th annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals presented by General Tire must be post-marked on or before December 18, 2012 in order to receive the $150 entry fee. Entries may also be faxed to the Chili Bowl offices at 918-836-5517 in order to avoid the $200 entry fee.

A complete list of drivers for the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals presented by General Tire can be found at

The 27th Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals presented by General Tire will begin moving teams in on Sunday January 6, 2013.

Practice is scheduled for Monday January 7th with the first night of competition getting underway with Tuesday’s Warren CAT Qualifying night as well as the 5th annual Vacuworx Invitational Race of Champions.

Competition continues with Wednesday’s River Spirit Casino Qualifier, Thursday’s John Christner Trucking Qualifier, and Friday Vacuworx Global Qualifier with everything culminating on Saturday’s Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Championship.

The top three in each of the US Fleet Tracking Qualifying Night A-Features will transfer directly into the Saturday January 12th Feature event with the remainder of Saturday’s US Fleet Tracking Championship Feature lined up according to the Qualifying night finishes.

Tuesday night tickets are the only reserved seats still available which can be obtained by calling the Chili Bowl office at 918-838-3777. General Admission seating is available along the back straight-a-way and can be accessed with the purchase of a Pit Pass.

Additional information regarding the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl presented by General Tire can be found online at For more updates follow the Chili Bowl on Facebook and on Twitter @cbnationals.

Lucas Oil Chili Bowl presented by General Tire - Quick Facts:

What: 27th annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl presented by General Tire

Where: Tulsa Expo Raceway – ¼-mile clay oval inside the QuikTrip Center at Tulsa's Expo Square

When: January 8-12, 2012

Tuesday – Warren CAT Qualifying Night plus Vacuworx Invitational Race of Champions
Wednesday – River Spirit Casino Qualifying Night
Thursday – John Christner Trucking Qualifying Night
Friday – Vacuworx Global Qualifying Night
Saturday – Lucas Oil Championship Feature Events


Races Tuesday-Friday begin at 6pm. Grandstands open at 3pm

Saturday begins at Noon. Opening Ceremonies following qualifiers is at 6pm. Grandstands open at 9am

Past Winners: Kevin Swindell (2012, 2011, and 2010), Sammy Swindell (2009, 1998, 1996, 1992 and 1989), Damion Gardner (2008), Tony Stewart (2007 and 2002), Tim McCreadie (2006), Tracy Hines (2005), Cory Kruseman (2004 and 2000), Dan Boorse (2003 and 1999), Jay Drake (2001), Billy Boat (1997), Donnie Beechler (1995), Andy Hillenburg (1994), Dave Blaney (1993), Lealand McSpadden (1991), John Heydenreich (1990), Scott Hatton (1988), Rich Vogler (1987).

Trade Show: A long standing tradition at the Chili Bowl, the Trade Show, which is open to the public each day (Tuesday through Saturday) is free of charge. All variety of racing products, apparel and more is available with well over 100 vendors. The Trade Show still has space available. Anyone looking to be a part of the Trade Show can contact the Chili Bowl office at 918-838-3777. The Trade Show covers approximately 20,000 square feet.

Chili Bowl Online: All official news regarding the 27th annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl National presented by General Tire can be found at Live online audio of each night can be found at

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the Chili Bowl Midget Nationals. More information about the products available from Lucas Oil can be found at General Tire is the presenting sponsor of the Chili Bowl. A complete inventory of tires offered by General Tire can be found at

Vacuworx Global is the title sponsor of the VIROC which brings past Chili Bowl Champions as well as champions from around the world together for a single 20 lap race to see who is the best of the best. For more information about Vacuworx log onto For more information on past champions of the VIROC log onto

US Fleet Tracking is the title sponsor of all A-Features during the 2013 Chili Bowl Midget Nationals. US Fleet Tracking is a GPS tracking manufacturer providing Internet-based access to LIVE vehicle tracking and asset management. For more information log onto

For more information on the Chili Bowl log onto or call 918-838-3777.

Photo Credit: Mike Howard

Submitted By: Bryan Hulbert

Back to News

Past Champions

2023 Champion Logan Seavey
2022 Champion Tanner Thorson
2021 Champion Kyle Larson
2020 Champion Kyle Larson
2019 Champion Christopher Bell

Contact Us