Chili Bowl


Live Timing
Watch Live
Fantasy Racing

2013 Chili Bowl Entry List Debuts with 113


Chili Bowl Nationals

2013 Chili Bowl Entry List Debuts with 113

Bryan Hulbert - Tulsa, Oklahoma (December 10, 2012) With the first days of the mercury dipping below freezing comes the undeniable sign that Emmett and Lanny’s gift to the racing world will soon be upon us as the countdown to the 27th annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals presented by General Tire comes under the 30 day mark.

With the first loads of clay being moved in starting December 11, 2012, the pre-entry list for the 2013 edition of the “Ultimate Indoor Race” debuts with 113 entries.

Among the list of Chili Bowl hopefuls includes 22 who have found their way into Saturday’s $10,000 to win event as well as a former champion with Tracy Hines (2005) behind the wheel of the Bob Parker / Spike / Toyota No. 24. Hines has a dozen A-Feature starts to his credit with an average finish of ninth.

With the days beginning to tick away, the early entry deadline for the Chili Bowl is December 15th. Entries post-marked before the deadline will be $150. Entries post-marked after the deadline will be $200.

The current entry count for the January 8-12, 2013 spectacular at the QuikTrip Center’s Tulsa Expo Raceway has yielded drivers from 25 states as well as entries from Australia and Canada. Of the states represented, the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals presented by General Tire’s home state of Oklahoma leads the charge with 19 entries with the “Golden State” of California sending 17. Always well represented, the state of Illinois completes the podium of states represented with 13.

The Rookie class, although some could hardly be called Rookies, currently stands at 18. Chief among the drivers looking to take on the tricky ¼ mile clay oval for the first time is 18 year racing veteran Robert Ballou. Scheduled to be behind the wheel of the Carl Sandy No. 16, Ballou spent the 2012 season chasing USAC National Sprint Car points behind the wheel of the MPHG Promotions No. 81. Ballou ultimately ended up tied for sixth.

A full list of Pre-Entries can be found at

The 27th Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals presented by General Tire will begin moving teams in on Sunday January 6, 2013.

Practice is scheduled for Monday January 7th with the first night of competition getting underway with Tuesday’s Warren CAT Qualifying night as well as the 5th annual Vacuworx Invitational Race of Champions.

Competition continues with Wednesday’s River Spirit Casino Qualifier, Thursday’s John Christner Trucking Qualifier, and Friday Vacuworx Global Qualifier with everything culminating on Saturday’s Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Championship.

The top three in each of the US Fleet Tracking Qualifying Night A-Features will transfer directly into the Saturday January 12th Feature event with the remainder of Saturday’s US Fleet Tracking Championship Feature lined up according to the Qualifying night finishes.

Tuesday night tickets are the only reserved seats still available which can be obtained by calling the Chili Bowl office at 918-838-3777. General Admission seating is available along the back straight-a-way and can be accessed with the purchase of a Pit Pass.

Additional information regarding the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl presented by General Tire can be found online at For more updates follow the Chili Bowl on Facebook and on Twitter @cbnationals.

Lucas Oil Chili Bowl presented by General Tire - Quick Facts:

What: 27th annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl presented by General Tire

Where: Tulsa Expo Raceway – ¼-mile clay oval inside the QuikTrip Center at Tulsa's Expo Square

January 8-12, 2012

Tuesday – Warren CAT Qualifying Night plus Vacuworx Invitational Race of Champions

Wednesday – River Spirit Casino Qualifying Night

Thursday – John Christner Trucking Qualifying Night

Friday – Vacuworx Global Qualifying Night

Saturday – Lucas Oil Championship Feature Events


Races Tuesday-Friday begin at 6pm. Grandstands open at 3pm

Saturday begins at Noon. Opening Ceremonies following qualifiers is at 6pm. Grandstands open at 9am

Past Winners: Kevin Swindell (2012, 2011, and 2010), Sammy Swindell (2009, 1998, 1996, 1992 and 1989), Damion Gardner (2008), Tony Stewart (2007 and 2002), Tim McCreadie (2006), Tracy Hines (2005), Cory Kruseman (2004 and 2000), Dan Boorse (2003 and 1999), Jay Drake (2001), Billy Boat (1997), Donnie Beechler (1995), Andy Hillenburg (1994), Dave Blaney (1993), Lealand McSpadden (1991), John Heydenreich (1990), Scott Hatton (1988), Rich Vogler (1987).

Trade Show: A long standing tradition at the Chili Bowl, the Trade Show, which is open to the public each day (Tuesday through Saturday) is free of charge. All variety of racing products, apparel and more is available with well over 100 vendors. The Trade Show still has space available. Anyone looking to be a part of the Trade Show can contact the Chili Bowl office at 918-838-3777. The Trade Show covers approximately 20,000 square feet.

Chili Bowl Online: All official news regarding the 27th annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl National presented by General Tire can be found at Live online audio of each night can be found at

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the Chili Bowl Midget Nationals. More information about the products available from Lucas Oil can be found at General Tire is the presenting sponsor of the Chili Bowl. A complete inventory of tires offered by General Tire can be found at

Vacuworx Global is the title sponsor of the VIROC which brings past Chili Bowl Champions as well as champions from around the world together for a single 20 lap race to see who is the best of the best. For more information about Vacuworx log onto For more information on past champions of the VIROC log onto

US Fleet Tracking is the title sponsor of all A-Features during the 2013 Chili Bowl Midget Nationals. US Fleet Tracking is a GPS tracking manufacturer providing Internet-based access to LIVE vehicle tracking and asset management. For more information log onto

For more information on the Chili Bowl log onto or call 918-838-3777.

Submitted By: Bryan Hulbert

Back to News

Past Champions

2023 Champion Logan Seavey
2022 Champion Tanner Thorson
2021 Champion Kyle Larson
2020 Champion Kyle Larson
2019 Champion Christopher Bell

Contact Us